Seasons Change

I recently sat on the front porch of my ever renewable restoration project that is our 1911 Craftsman Bungalow in Medford Oregon. It was the beginning of autumn and the trees were dropping their summer burden of leaves getting ready for a long winters nap.

The warm wind pushed through the puddles of colors; the hues of red, yellow, brown, orange and multi-hued leaves, rising and falling on waves of memories created by the swirl of the seasonal change. The leaves rose into the air and crashed on the beaches of asphalt, concrete dirt and grass. I watched the birds of autumn swoop and dive in playful flight as they warmed their wings for their flight away from the oncoming cold and south to warmer climates. I wondered if they might allow this old bird to join them in flight…to carry me on the uplifts of their wing wash…to allow me to join the merriment of knowledge and the persistence of living life on the go…snow-birds in the truest sense.

They didn’t take me…maybe it was how I asked…screaming at the top of my lungs I yelled “Don’t leave me behind. Don’t leave me to endure the damp cold of the oncoming Oregon winter storms.” And on my knees sobbing like I did when the plane left me on the tarmac in Viet Nam… “Take me with you.”

OK…a little over-dramatized I’ll admit…but I so yearn for the warmth of summer. I’m a person who likes the snow…as a thing to visit, play in, photograph and then leave to melt when the summer comes. But the memory of my first photographic art show reminds me of the beauty that can be found during the periods of inclement weather and the dramatic scenes in nature that are to become images captured by my camera, printed to paper and presented to the parade of people who have braved the cold, damp walk from the car to the gallery.

To once again hear the ohhhhs and ahhhhhs tumble from their frozen lips, unable to form words until the hot buttered rum has given them the warmth to present their praise in the context of intelligent adult conversation still saturated with a large smattering of ohhhhhs and ahhhhhs and “Wish I could have been there” ‘s.

So here’s a view for you who are members of the trail of frozen tears that brave the rain, slush, snow and frigid air between the warmth of the car heater and the hot buttered rum. So here’s a view for those of you who have no wish to put on the layers of clothes and snowshoes necessary to trudge into the backwoods to view this beauty in nature. And here’s a view for those of you living Down Under, enjoying the warm sands of the beaches warmed by the southern hemisphere’s summer sun…oh to visit your world once again to escape the curling winds of the north freeze my fingers during the capturing of images.

And here’s a view for my fair feathered friends who flew off without so much as a tittering look back during their winged flight to let me know how they would miss me…that they would be back to visit when the weather was once again suitable for intelligent habitation. Until then they will no doubt chatter about me and my dilemma over a bird bath filled to the brim with Margaritas, basking in the warm summer days south of the equator.

Ever so melancholy I sit with warm Wild Turkey honey whiskey filling my coffee…knowing all I have to do is wait…for Seasons Change.

IMG_2484 IMG_2222 IMG_2219 IMG_2151h IMG_2120 IMG_1096 IMG_0695 IMG_0694 IMG_0213 IMG_0364 IMG_0193 IMG_0166 IMG_0019 IMG_0003 IMG_8564 IMG_6714

Mt Shasts CA

IMG_2688

One thought on “Seasons Change

Leave a Reply

